“Another great new trail race…”

I’ve been letting my fingers do the walking a little bit too much lately.  Here’s what happens.  I’m wasting time (I mean connecting with friends) on Facebook, and up pops a comment (how come all the friends who post seem to be runners these days!) about an amazing race.  Another amazing race.  So I go and click on it.  I get all over excited, and suddenly I find I’m signing up for another cool trail run.  And then another.

At last count – well, I haven’t actually counted, so here goes –

Marysville Marathon in November 2013

Two Bays 56km in January 2014

Roller Coaster Run 43km in March 2014

Looking back from lookoutMount Buffalo Stampede Marathon in April 2014 (one week after the Roller Coaster Run!)

I’d also signed up for the Lorne Adventurefest, but then realised I was seeing Bon Jovi the night before.  Bon Jovi provides the soundtrack for my running, and always has.  I don’t know whether its a beats-per-minute thing, or the lyrics, but I suspect its both (they also help me make school lunch, so its probably the lyrics).

Keep the Faith (Bon Jovi song)

Keep the Faith (Bon Jovi song) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Those two events don’t really go together, so that’s December without a race!  Phew!

Oh, and that’s not counting the North Face in the Blue Mountains, though sign-ups are fast approaching and I know I won’t be able to resist.

A few years ago there weren’t any trail races in Melbourne, at least none that I was aware of.  Each weekend, my husband would say, “What would you like to do?” and I’d answer (in my head), “Go to the Dandenongs.”  It was in my head because our kids were too little to enjoy such a trip, and the favorite game of my youngest in those days was take-my-seatbelt-off-while-we-are-on-the-freeway.  That kind of took the edge off long family trips.

But now.  Now they are older.  We’ve got DVD players for the car.  And they’ve discovered Diary of A Wimpy Kid.  So the universe has aligned with this crazy need of mine to run wild in the woods.  Oh, and I’ve got the kindest husband in the world for my support crew.

Trouble is, I haven’t even completed the first marathon, and I’m already pretty tired.  It’s been a big year of races (six big ones to date including my first ultramarathon), and some significant family challenges.  So I’m going to have to start training very, very smart and eating like an actual athlete.

Here’s the best thing that happened today though.  I was in the office at my kids primary school when another mom walked in.  “Hi Patricia,” she said.  “Guess what!  I’m doing a half-marathon in a week or so.  You’re quite an inspiration!”  That made me glow.

Now I’m off to spend some quality time with my dura-disk, rolling pin, foam roller and yoga mat.  I’ll write you more later in the week, though with a long run of 32km planned, and a total week of 63km, I may be writing a bit more about being tired.

Last year, I often had the feeling I’d bitten off more than I could chew, but I got through it, and recovered a stronger runner.  I intend to apply all the lessons I learned then to tackling this next big time of challenges.

And I’m going to keep off all new trail race websites for at least a month, until my fingers cool down!

Let me know your thoughts about what I've written. I'm listening...

