Where did I go?

Good question! And one I find difficult to answer. I’ve been here, trying to focus on writing my next book, getting stuck, distracted, starting again and again. Worried that blogging was gobbling up my writing time and energy, so I stopped for a bit.

And that “bit” grew and grew until I forgot I blogged with passion and commitment, until writing itself began to slip away.

I’ve kept running, but changed focus after yet another injury. I rejoined a gym and began lifting heavy again, rediscovering my strength and muscles. I’ve focused on speed – tempo training and intervals, dancing lightly on trails rather than plodding.

I meant to blog about the wonderful 12km Afterglow Trail Run, but the week before that event we were robbed and I lost my voice and my confidence and my sense of safety.

And now months and months have gone, and my voice feels stale and atrophied and I want to write as I did before but like a weak muscle, I must retrain myself.

I ran with a new friend today, who spoke so kindly of my blogs. I’m grateful she recalled them for me.

And as I ran the last 4K of our run solo (she was up for 18, me 22), it occurred to me: perhaps I don’t have a novel to write right now. Perhaps I have a running/life memoir. Maybe one woman’s journey through the woods can reflect other’s, and perhaps shine light in the dark.

In any case, I’ll keep this short today. It’s simply a “hello” and an explanation of sorts.

More next week..

 

 

Let me know your thoughts about what I've written. I'm listening...

